Tracey Bush Artist

The John Ruskin Prize 2019 Shortlist Exhibition


12th July – 24 August 2019

The Holden Gallery, Manchester

Selected from a record number of entries, prize organisers visual literacy charity The Big Draw joined with the prize’s

founder and core supporter, Ruskin’s own charity The Guild of St George, announce the shortlist for The John Ruskin

Prize 2019.

Responding to this year’s prize theme: Agent of Change, 41 artists and designers, working across a broad range of

disciplines, have been selected from over 1260 entries for The John Ruskin Prize 2019. The 2019 selection panel

considered over 3000 artworks by artists at all stages of their careers.

The John Ruskin Prize 2019 Shortlisted artists are:

Balal Aquil, Omid Asadi, Lucy Burscough, Tracey Bush, Duncan Cameron, Faye Claridge, Judy Clarkson, Wayne Clough,

Connor Coulston, Sarah Craske, Smout Allen Design Research, Sarah Duncan, Lisa Earley, Kate Genever, Nigel

Goldsmith, Evagelia Hagikalfa, Martin Hearne, Michelle Heron, Harriet Mena Hill, Marguerite Horner, Benedict

Hughes, Juliette Losq, Pinkie Maclure, Farwa Moledina, Julie Moss, Fronc Ng, Kazuki Nishinaga, Shanti Panchal, Lucy

Pass, Lee John Phillips, Hilary Powell, Mike S Redmond & Faye Coral Johnson, Gabrielle Roberts-Dalton, Conor Rogers,

Katrin Spranger, Emilia Symis, Kathy Taylor, Danny Treacy, Chao Wang, Pip Woolf and Colin Yates.

The 2019 shortlist was selected by:

Hew Locke, Artist; Barbara walker MBE, Artist; Jessie Brennan, Artist; Dr Rachel Dickinson, Director of Education, Guild

of St George and Principal Lecturer Department of Interdisciplinary Studies, Manchester Metropolitan University; Dr

Jonathan Foyle, Architectural Historian, Broadcaster & Artist, Professor Tim Brennan, Artist & Head of Art, Manchester

Metropolitan University and Kate Mason, Director, The Big Draw

The shortlist exhibition ‘Agent of Change’ is curated by: Rachel Price and Zoe Watson